Vegan Deviled “Eggs”

Finished & ready to serve Deviled "Eggs"!
Finished & ready to serve Deviled “Eggs”!

I have to admit it was QUITE the stressful journey to get these to work this past Easter Sunday. Of course, I waited until the morning before I needed them to make them so the fact that they weren’t working right away just added to the stress of my time crunch! Luckily, I figured it all out & now I’m delighted to share the recipe with you all!

I can’t vouch for how closely these resemble real deviled eggs in taste – because I’ve never actually had real deviled eggs – but I thought they were pretty darn good! I got a few of my relatives to try them out & they said they “weren’t bad,” but my family is not the most open minded when it comes to vegan food… My uncle, for instance, let me budge him in our buffet line so I could get my “rabbit food” out of the way.

Nonetheless, I think the texture turned out SPOT ON which was probably the most miraculous part of this recipe. The key to getting it perfect is the agar agar powder. If you’ve never used it before – like me – you’re in for a treat! Essentially, agar agar is made from algae & helps to make food more gelatinous (without using any animal products!). I was able to find some in the bulk section of my local health food co-op, but it’s also available on Amazon – though it’ll take forever to get it shipped to you in the US because most of it is sold from overseas.

I originally saw this recipe on Pinterest & knew it was something I wanted to try out at our family’s Easter gathering. I started by using this recipe: http://www.organicauthority.com/vegan-deviled-eggs-they-do-exist/ , but quickly ran into problems. I had blended the ingredients for the “egg whites” & they had been in the refrigerator for about 2 hours. I went to go pull them out so I could make the filling & put it in when lo and behold – they had not hardened at all! I quickly scanned through the comment section on the recipe page & found one lonely comment of a woman who’d made them & said that hers hadn’t hardened either… but she’d had hers in the fridge overnight! Whoever posted the recipe hadn’t even bothered to respond back. UGH!!!!

Needless to say, I needed to find another recipe! So I hopped back onto Pinterest and found this recipe: NL_devilegghttp://www.baked-in.com/2013/03/25/vegan-deviled-eggs/ . Essentially the differences in the recipe for the “egg whites” included adding more agar agar & boiling the mixture before pouring it into the molds. 30 minutes later, my “eggs” were firmed up in the fridge & ready for filling. OOFTA!

Once I got the right recipe, it was very simple to make. I did simplify it a little, however, by substituting in some kitchen staples for the fancier items it called for. I swapped table salt for kosher/sea salt & kala namak (black salt). I also swapped regular mustard for dijon & plain white vinegar for white wine vinegar.

This batch should make about 15 eggs at only 48 calories each for you to devour.

Let me know how this recipe works out for you.

Peace, love, & delicious appetizers!

-Chef Jamie Love

Vegan Deviled “Eggs”

Ingredients:

  • “Whites”
    • 2 cups unsweetened, unflavored almond milk
    • 2 tsp. agar agar powder
    • ¼ tsp. salt
    “Yolks”
    • ½ lb extra firm tofu
    • 2 Tbsp. vegan mayonnaise
    • 2 Tbsp. vegetable oil
    • 2 tsp. mustard
    • 1 tsp. vinegar
    • 1 tsp. salt
    • ½ tsp. turmeric
    • Freshly ground pepper to taste
    • Paprika, for garnish

Directions:

Hardened "whites" - spooned out & ready for filling.
Hardened “whites” – spooned out & ready for filling.
  1. Combine almond milk, agar agar, and salt in a small saucepan and whisk to combine.
  2. Bring to a boil. Remove from heat & pour into egg molds. Refrigerate for 30 minutes to allow to set.
  3. Combine tofu, vegan mayo, oil, mustard, vinegar, salt, turmeric, and pepper in a blender. Blend 30 seconds or until smooth.
  4. Use a half-teaspoon or melon baller to scoop out a small circle from the inside of each egg half.
  5. Use a piping bag or spoon to fill each egg with yolk.
  6. Sprinkle with paprika and serve.
Leave a Reply

